Members of the panel

The Panel is composed of three international experts in human rights law. One expert is a EULEX KOSOVO judge who is familiar with the mission and the legal system of Kosovo. The other two Panel members were selected through a special call for contributions in late November 2009 and thereafter as necessary.

The Panel members were appointed by the EULEX Deputy Head of Mission on 4 May 2010. A substitute member for the EULEX judge was also appointed in case a conflict of interest should arise during the review of a complaint. The Panel became fully operational upon the adoption of its Rules of Procedure on 9 June 2010. The Panel convenes regularly and exercises its functions with impartiality and integrity.

The Panel has a permanent secretariat in the citycentre, Prishtinë/ Priština, which is easily accessible to the public.


Ms. Magda Mierzewska, Presiding Member


Mr. Guénaël Mettraux, Member


Ms. Anna Bednarek, Substitute Member